The Bus Syndrome, 8.12.11.

First Aid Certificate

It’s a while since I’ve been on a First Aid Course, so I elected to attend one in Belper today and received a shiny new certificate at the end of the afternoon.

A bit like advice on childbirth, things tend to change daily in First Aid, especially where resuscitation is concerned. We were told that if someone is not breathing, you should give them 2 breaths and 15 compressions to the tune of ‘Nelly The Elephant’. In contrast, the advice on the television over Christmas stated ‘no kissing’ just compressions to the tune ‘Staying Alive’. I wonder what the advice is this week?

Straight after finishing the First Aid Course it was time for a Christmas Tutor Meeting at The Eco Centre where I sometimes work. As well as bringing us up to date on the latest in the world of education, I got to talk again about the merits of posting your work on DACES Moodle site. Will be interested to see if the anything comes my way of the promised future training sessions. The highlight of the evening was the homemade soup, bread and cake – how could anyone miss this delight … and instruction on how to make a willow Christmas decoration – fab, thanks Eco Centre!

Willow Christmas Decoration

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Bus Syndrome, 8.12.11.

  1. Kelly says:

    I was taught 2 breaths to 15 compressions if you’re doing CPR by yourself or 1 breath to 5 compressions if there are two of you. Mind you, that was 19 years ago. I did wonder myself how the new way worked with no respirations. How do you get oxygen into the system? I suppose it’s better doing something than nothing at all right enough.

Leave a comment